How is Gluten-Free Pizza Made?

A gluten-free lifestyle can be tough. For many, eating out when they are sensitive to gluten or are following a gluten-free diet is practically impossible.

Fortunately, many restaurants and chains are beginning to listen to the growing needs of their customers and are offering better options. Finding gluten free pizza near you is easier than ever before. Nothing says the weekend like pizza, so being able to order a gluten-free pizza can feel like a victory.

Traditional pizza crust is made with flour, sugar, yeast, salt, water and oil. If you have a gluten sensitivity, flour can wreak havoc on your body. From digestive issues to lethargy to headaches – eating just one slice can ruin your entire day.

Hungry Howie’s gluten-free pizza crust does not contain wheat, barley or rye. The crust is instead made with rice flour, modified rice starch, potato starch, tapioca flour, yeast, olive oil, evaporated cane sugar, salt, xanthan gum, and calcium sulfate. The crust has less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

Although it’s not exactly the way Hungry Howie’s makes it Gluten Free Crust, if you want to give it try, here is a recipe you might like.  First, gather up all the ingredients. In a small bowl, the yeast and warm water are combined. In a separate bowl, the gluten free flour blend, salt, and sugar are well combined. A well, or hole, is made in the dry mixture; the yeast and water combo is then added to this mixture. Olive oil and more warm water are added and the mixture is given a stir.

Unlike traditional pizza crust, there is no need to let the pizza dough rise for an hour. However, for some homemade gluten-free pizza crusts, the crust should be cooked prior to adding any sauce, cheese, or toppings.

Gluten-free pizza delivery is currently available from Hungry Howie’s in small 10” pizzas.

You can enjoy most of the pizza toppings Hungry Howie’s has available, except the ground beef and steak topping, if you are sensitive to gluten.

If a completely gluten-free diet is a requirement for you, it’s important to note that most restaurant kitchens are open environments and your food could be exposed to other ingredients that contain gluten.

If you’re sensitive to gluten, let Hungry Howie’s make dinner and order a pizza tonight.


This is our legal disclaimer: If you have celiac disease, our Gluten-Free Crust is not for you. If you are gluten-sensitive, please exercise your best judgment before ordering. Our kitchens are open environments, leaving our Gluten-Free Crust to possible exposure to other ingredients that contain gluten. We cannot guarantee that your pizza made with our Gluten-Free Crust will be free of all gluten.